This is just the beginning 

I am a teacher, listener, cleaner, carer, shoulder to cry on, adviser, advocate, leader, bad news barer, mediator, mathematician, artist, coach, athlete, nutritionist, dancer, musician, writer. I am a Nurse.

One more month and my dream will come true!

So why a nurse?

I want to be the one to care for people, empower others to take control of their health and make healthy choices. I want to teach people how to look after themselves, be their advocate in times of need. I want to make a difference to the communities and people’s lives. If i can do that then my mission is complete.
I have wanted to be a nurse since I can remember, I know it is a little cliche but its true that in actual fact I have wanted to be a nurse since I was young. I remember watching the TV shows about doctors and nurses in the emergency rooms. The care that the nurses delivered inspired me to want to be like them. They made a difference, by listening, empowering, caring and advocating. I want to do exactly that.
I’m not going to lie because as i said i will tell you the truth and nothing but the truth on my blog, but when i first started my degree I wondered what i had gotten myself in to. All the long days at uni, the hours of study, the piles of work that were to be completed, overwhelmed me.

There was a point in my degree where I felt like giving up. I doubted myself and in actual fact had a mental break down. I would cry in my room every day because I had never been so stressed and scared in my life. Scared that i wasn’t good enough, that I wasn’t smart enough nor was I capable of passing my degree.
I am lucky enough to have amazing friends and family, along with an amazing uni family who have supported, guided and encouraged me right the way through my degree. I have an amazing partner who has given me strength and many words of encouragement when I have found myself so overwhelmed and stressed.

It is because of these people that I have been able to keep going and most importantly, keep my sanity.
When I look back at all those long days at uni, long weeks at clinical, hours of study and piles of work to be completed, I realize that I had no reason to doubt myself. I have made it, I have completed the piles of work, I have gotten above average grades and I have already made a difference to many people’s lives.
I am 99% of the way to the finish line. I CAN DO THIS and I WILL DO THIS, and when I do, it means the journey has just begun.
No dream is too big or too small. You have a dream? Follow it and never give up honey.

With love

Soph, x

About the post

Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

