Water and what?!

During the colder months my body craves warmer, spicier foods. It want’s to rest more, cosy up on the sofa and move less. It want’s a change in foods such as home made stews, curry, roast vegetables and most of all, warmer water! So I take notice and do what my body is asking for.

I don’t just like drinking regular old water, that tastes of nothing, thats boring. I like to spice things up a little, add a some flavour.

I love rich flavours that give things a slight kick!
So to my hot water I love to add:

  • 2 thick slices of lemon (this is great for aiding digestion and detoxifying the body. It also has many nourishing elements such as vitamin C, vitamin B6, vitamin A, vitamin E, folate, niacin thiamin, riboflavin, pantothenic acid all great at helping the body heal and cleanse)
  • Cinnamon powder or sticks, whatever is handy (good for lowering your blood sugar levels and is great for tackling your sweet tooth!)
  • Honey (this has carcinogen-preventing and anti-tumour properties, helps with your sweet tooth and boosts your immune system. Honey is also great for when you have a pesky cough that won’t budge or when you have a cold)
  • A few slices of ginger (great for combatting nausea/morning sickness. It aids with digestion, helps fight against flu and most importantly ginger contains Gingerol. Gingerol is the main bioactive compound in ginger, responsible for much of its medicinal properties. It has powerful anti-inflammatory and antioxidant effects)

Sometimes I add all of these ingredients to my hot water, other days I only pair two of the ingredients together, it really just depends what I am feeling like on the day. I simply boil water, add it to my big mug then add my ingredients of choice. vwalaa there you have it! I leave it to infuse for a while before drinking it, so all of the nutrients and antioxidants have had time to infuse into the water. You can use a tea pot or a flask if you prefer there really is no right or wrong. Once my water has ran out, I simply add more hot water. The organic sugar and spices add a delicious taste, making hot water so much more enjoyable to drink!  My belly is happy after drinking a cup of this, as my body is warm.

Do you enjoy warm drinks during the colder months? Why not give this a try, I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Until next time honey,

Soph,xo

About the post

Health, Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

