Oil it up

I have suffered from damaged hair for a long time. From constantly colouring, straightening and stripping my hair it eventually ended up being dry, brittle, lifeless. I really wasn’t happy with it at all and yes I only have myself to blame I know.

A few years ago I decided to try out a variety of hair oils in an attempt to restore the moisture in my hair, hoping that it would bring some life back into it. I am so glad I did because they give my hair a beautiful sheen, as well as the protection it needs if I decide to straighten it. I am someone who also has a lot of hair, which means my hair is very frizzy. Using hair oils really helps ‘tame the mane’ and allow me to go out without the worry of my hair looking like a ‘poof ball’.

Here are a few of my favourite hair oils that I think really make a difference to the appearance of my hair.

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 6.02.37 PM.png

This Moroccan oil treatment really is divine. I was first introduced to this by my hairdresser who told me this oil would be a saviour for my hair and boy was she right. The moment she used this oil on my hair I was in awe at how smooth my hair appeared to look and the way it had my frizz under control. It was everything I wanted in an oil and more. It is an oil I will probably use forever as I just can’t keep my hands off it. infused with argan oil rich in antioxidants and shine boosting vitamins, this oil is truely a must have! 

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 5.58.06 PM.png

Enriched with African galanga root extract and nutrient-rich ama as well as borage and baobab oils this is for sure a multitasking oil. Ouai really does control frizz, seals split ends, protect colour and create a beautiful shine. Jen Atkin’s tip is to even use it as a overnight hydrating mask to give your hair that extra boost of moisture. 

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 5.58.51 PM.png

Can we take a moment to admire the beautiful packaging on this product! Not going to lie I would of just bought this product for it’s looks. However that is not why I love Bumble and Bumble’s Hairdresser’s Invisible oil. This oil is on the more lightweight side, which is why is has the name ‘invisible oil’, it is packed with grapeseed, safflower seed, sweet almond, macadamia nut, argan, and coconut oils and really does strengthen, soften and smooth. This one is a winner for sure! 

What are some of your favourite hair oils? I love trying out new products, any suggestions?

 

SJ xx

About the post

Beauty

Leave a Reply

